Canary Islands

The canary Islands are a beautiful volcanic archipelago of seven large and six smaller islands which lies in the Atlantic Ocean about 100 kilometers off the northwest coast of Africa. 

The seven main islands are (listed from largest to smallest in area) Tenerife, Fuerteventura, Gran Canaria, Lanzarote, La Palma, La Gomera y El Hierro.

The archipelago includes much smaller islands and islets: La Graciosa, Alegranza, Isla de Lobos, Montaña Clara, Roque del Oeste, and Roque del Este.

The islands offer a wide and exciting landscape diversity ranging from tropical sandy beaches, lunar ground pine tree forrest to Sahara sand dunes.

Idyllic scenery packed with cultural attractions such as baroque churches, museums, and vibrant festivals that along with the fantastic beaches surrounded by dramatic cliffs and rich underwater sea life offer a wide variety of tourist sightseeing spots and activities to experience. 

Las Canteras Beach – Palma de Gran Canaria
La Playa Jinámar – Palma de Gran Canaria
Las Teresitas Beach – Tenerife
Las Brujas Beach – Tenerife
El Moro Beach – Fuerteventura
Playa Maspalomas – Gran Canaria  – Golden beaches with huge sand dunes

Sightseeing tours:
UNESCO Biosphere Reserves – Gran Canaria and La Palma
City of San Cristobal de la Laguna – Tenerife UNESCO-listed city
UNESCO-listed Biosphere Reserve – Lanzarote
Timanfaya Nationalpark – Lanzarote
Pico Teide Hike – Teneriffa

Fiesta de la Virgen del Carmen – Lanzarote

  • Sailing
  • Snorkel
  • Scuba dive
  • Hiking
  • Surfing

High Season: July and August 

Whales and Dolphins Season: March and April

When to visit: April to October

Currency: Euro